New here!! Advice please :)

Brynn

Question

I am a new CNA & have heard a lot of good things about this app and I would like to know if or when you go to a shift, how it goes and who do you talk to when you get there ? Is there some type of orientation or will they give me an exact assignment? 

• Like 1

5 answers to this question

Guest Kimberly Griffin4804500565

Hi Brynn and welcome. I am a nurse for 23 years and I was a CNA for close to 5 years before becoming a nurse.  I have signed on with a handful of facilities, but for the most part, I have worked agency the majority of my career. Its not for everyone, but for people who like to change things up and arent afraid to step out of their comfort zone, it is the only way to work. You are your own boss. You dont have to go to mandatory meetings and for the most part can stay out of the politics of the facilities. You are in charge of your schedule...you dont have to beg anyone to have your birthday off (mines this thursday)

to answer your question and to help alleviate your fears, i offer this from an experienced, seasoned nurse:

1. (I have not mastered this and still struggle)

Be on time and even early. Sure, you want to orient yourself to the facility and patients, but dont kid yourself...you most likely will NOT be getting your own private tour of the place. The staff you are relieving are using those precious last moments of the shift preparing for you to relieve them. It will only make them  annoyed if you come in and wish to monopolize their time...remember, thats their shift and not yours...dont make a pest of yourself asking a bunch of questions to people who have a certain routine. Let them finish.